Peach Cobbler Oat Muffins

I’ve written before about my love for muffins.  I just love them.  They are a marker of childhood and of my processed past life.  Though I have easily given up many, many processed mainstays–Twizzlers, PopTarts, flavored yogurts–muffins continue to call my name.  I have a hard time shopping at Whole Foods without slowly walking passed the gleaming glass case of delicious, giant, dessert-like goodness just dreaming of how badly I want just one Lemon Poppyseed or Pumpkin Chocolate Chip or Apple Strudel muffin–and these are just 3 of the baked cupcakes–I mean, muffins, begging for me to give in. I know I could.  No one would judge me and I know one muffin won’t undo my progress.  But I also love going out for ice cream with my kids and I love adding extra banana and peanut butter to my Shakeology and I love going over my carbs with watermelon and white nectarines and white peaches.  I don’t want to waste any cheats on a muffin that may as well be a slice of cake for all of the sugar and calories and who knows what it contains.

IMG_1017

So I’d rather make my own.  And make my own I did.  Kayden helped me, which is always a riot.  She had the job of measuring out the ingredients while I grated the produce (yes–fresh produce), finished making dinner, fed the baby, and assisted Paxton with a few video game glitches. Regardless, the batch came out perfectly.  So busy moms, you can easily make these one weekend and freeze them for quick, go-to breakfasts once school starts! This will quickly thaw in the micro and you can either eat as-is or pop in the toaster if time allows.

White peaches are one of my favorite summertime fruits.  I stalk the produce department of every grocery story and check some farmers’ markets religiously until I uncover some. And when I do, cost per pound be damned!  I am buying at least 5 because I will eat at least one a day.  Like the last chocolate chip cookie, I will wait until my kids are asleep or fully distracted before indulging in a white peach just so there is less of a chance I’ll have to share.  I figured this delicacy would be the perfect main ingredient in my next foray into recipe testing some muffins.  I was right! Plus, the most important element of clean eating is eating according to the season.  Your grocery bill will be smaller and the food you waste will be less when you buy local, in-season produce. Peaches are perfect for summer treats and when fall hit, you can trade them out for apples in this recipe for a yummy autumnal treat.

IMG_1016

You could use a traditional peach instead of the white variety, but I really urge you to give a white peach a try. There really is no comparison.  My grandpa George, who passed away while I was in high school, also loved this fruit.  Trust me–he knew a good peach when he met one.  You could have just asked my grandma Agnes about that. I savor each one with him in mind and know that I am making both of them proud–Poppy George by honoring his favorite fruit and Nanny Agnes by becoming quite comfortable in my kitchen–with this recipe.

These muffins are not only loaded with fresh ingredients, including zucchini–because I put veggies in everything anymore–but they are also flourless, dairy-free, sugar-free, egg-free, and gluten free, if necessary.  These are not flavor-free, though.  Banana and peach provide the perfect summer sweetness and the zucchini adds enough moisture that you don’t need oils or apple sauce.

IMG_1014

Peach Cobbler Oat Muffins

  • Servings: 12-18
  • Time: 40-45min
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Flourless, dairy-, and sugar-free muffins perfect for before-school breakfasts!

Muffin Mix

  • 2 tbsp ground flax seeds + 6 tbsp water, combine and set aside (creates flax eggs)
  • 2 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (certified gluten free if needed)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 small zucchini, grated
  • 1 large white peach, skin on, grated
  • 1/4 c all-natural peanut butter (sub in any nut or seed butter if allergies exist)
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup, grade B
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Topping

  • 1/2 cup raw pecans, chopped
  • 1-2 tbsp (use your judgement!) pure maple syrup, grade B
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°. Spray 18 muffin cups with coconut nonstick cooking spray.
  2. Prepare flax eggs and set aside to gel. Combine topping ingredients and set aside to “marinate.”
  3. Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl and stir in the flax eggs as well.  The batter will be moist and, depending upon how juicy your produce is, you may need to add in more oats.  Do so one tablespoon at a time until the batter is as thick as rice pudding.
  4. Spoon the batter into muffin cups.  You can fill them all the way since they will not rise as they bake, or leave a little extra room for the topping.  You should get 12-18 out of the batter depending on how high you fill the cups.
  5. Spoon a little bit of the pecan topping onto each muffin.  Gently press down with the back of the spoon to secure the pecans in place. If extra syrup remains, feel free to drizzle it onto the muffins.
  6. Back for 25-30 minutes, depending on the height of each muffin.
  7. Cool for five minutes before removing from the tin.  Eat immediately, store in the fridge for up to 5 days, or freeze to enjoy later!

I’d love to hear your thoughts on these muffins.  When my son first tried them, he yelled “Please make these again!” I’ll take that response any day!

And if you want more recipes like this one, please join my Back To School clean eating group!  It is a private Facebook community through which I’ll share breakfast and lunch recipes perfect for moms and kids on the go!

 

IMG_1018

Leave a Reply

